![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 3,243
|
Dear users,
we have noticed a new plague on internet forums. it's a series of bots which register themselves under an official sounding name (something'admin' and something'root') and then send a PM to a series of people containing a website link to a virus. we are taking steps to counter the amount of this spam. If you recieve such a PM, please delete it immediately and notify a moderator by PM or post in this thread. In your report, please provide the name of the user sending the spam, but don't copy the spam message (especially not the link they contain) to protect anyone from clicking the link by accident. with kind regards, Your moderator team
__________________
Last edited by Saniiro-San; April 6th, 2010 at 02:23:41. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Noord-Brabant / Oosterhout
Posts: 4
|
i have found someone
His name is: JoshuaaNave |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Otaku
|
jup me too following message:
JoshuaaNave Junior Member Join Date: Apr 2010 Posts: 0 Take measures immediately!!! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear, ******************! Spam sending from your computer was detected. We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: *insert link* If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.). ---------------------------------------------------- Forum Administration forum.stichtingabunai.nl
__________________
http://www.tegendraads.net/ Last edited by Saniiro-San; April 6th, 2010 at 02:28:03. |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
|
-mod-edit-
hope this info helps Last edited by Saniiro-San; April 6th, 2010 at 02:24:28. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 3,243
|
it didn't really help I'm afraid because the name of the person sending the PM was missing from the report, and because the forum automatically notifies you of a PM someone sends you so it indeed originates from our email address because that's the forum sending you a notification and not the actual spam message (PM).
I removed the above named account though and removed all PM's sent by this user.
__________________
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
|
JosephWard
Junior Member Join Date: Apr 2010 Posts: 0 Important message from the forum administration! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear, Kimmytje;chary;juuiPOP;Namie;RoninTX! Spam sending from your computer was detected. We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: ************** If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.). ---------------------------------------------------- Forum Administration forum.stichtingabunai.nl De volgende.... Last edited by Saniiro-San; April 11th, 2010 at 16:29:08. |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 3,243
|
thanks for the report. this user has been dealt with.
just to remind people: please remove any and all links from such PM's when you report them, so no one might click on them by accident.
__________________
Last edited by Saniiro-San; April 12th, 2010 at 19:39:41. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Otaku
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 101
|
prerryarrique
no problem couldn't find the topic at first xD |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|